The Shopkeeper’s Museum has cultural and historical value. It consists of a log building completed in 1841, and outbuildings, the last of which were completed in the 1870s. The Museum is representative of the Finnish-Russian merchant tradition of the early 20th century. Dive into history in the old shop and feel what the life of artisans was like in their homes and outbuildings. A variety of artisans used to live in these surroundings. The last people to actually run a shop here were members of the Muravyev family.
The museum is in a building that was completed around 1760. In this “Catherine’s Palace”, Russian Empress Catherine the Great and King Gustav III of Sweden held negotiations for three days in the summer of 1783. The Town Museum moved into the building in 1957. There is a main exhibition presenting the colourful history of the fortress city, as well as varying exhibitions. The upstairs space is an atmospheric setting for a variety of workshops and events, and is also rented as a meeting space for outsiders.
Hamina’s Reserve Officer School celebrated its centenary in 2020 – the first reserve officer course started on 1 April 1920. The exhibition tells about the School’s history before the World Wars and during World War II, and offers a glimpse of what’s happening in modern times.
Wanta veteraani (‘Old veteran’) is a museum in Hamina and a centre for functional peacekeeping and veteran work. Its flagship is a permanent exhibition, which is continuously updated, about peacekeeping and crisis management in the past and today. The basis for the tradition centre consists of unique material collected over several decades by Ismo Flink, a seasoned peacekeeping veteran, about peacekeeping operations in which Finnish peacekeepers have been involved.